Chad Mirkin is this year’s recipient of the Remsen Award from the Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society and the Chemistry Department of Johns Hopkins. The award is given each year to an outstanding chemist and consists of an honorarium ($2000) and a plaque with a citation describing the awardee’s accomplishments, both presented at the lecture delivered by the honoree at Johns Hopkins. Mirkin is the 73rd Remsen honoree and is part of a list that includes scientific luminaries such as Edward Teller, Willard Libby, R.B. Woodward, Charles Townes, Roald Hoffman, and Robert Grubbs.  17 former recipients have won Nobel Prizes.